Who Dares to Touch?

For she thought, “If I just touch His garments, I will get well.”     Mark 5:28

 

There are many women whose past has defined their lives for the longest time.  Fears, insecurities, hurt, dashed hope envelope them and eclipse the present life and any hope on the horizon.  I was such a woman. 

Past heartaches, frustration and failure pushed me into a dark, solitary cell.  Scared of getting hurt with the possibility of drowning in frustration, I did not dare to voice my dreams and I did not have the courage to ask for help.  Rather than getting my hopes up to surely have it shattered, I settled to stay near the bottom of the pit so the fall from hope would not hurt as much.  My dark cell was my world and my spirit was chained to it.

It took some time before I met the Lord.  Friends told me about Jesus and His forgiveness and everlasting love, but He seemed too good to be true.  Questions bounced between my heart and mind “Is He for real? Would He really do this for me?  Maybe He is no different from all the others”.  I was very skeptical but there was also the faintest throb of hope.  A small seed of hope buried deep inside that was almost imperceptible.  I dared to hope — but not too much and half expecting to be denied my prayer.  But the Lord is full of grace and overflowing with mercy.  Just like the bleeding woman when she touched His robe, I tentatively touched His robe and immediately knew that a miracle happened. 

In Mark 5, while in the middle of a throng, Jesus asked “Who touched my robe?”  It was not that He did not know who touched Him.  He certainly knew who it was.  He asked because He wanted the bleeding woman to know that He is aware of her and more importantly, that He sees her and cares for her.  I could only imagine the nervousness of the woman as she slowly looked at the Messiah and felt His tender love for her.  His words must have been a soothing balm that washed over her.  And oh, the joy and ecstasy she must have felt!

As with the bleeding woman, I did not want to stand out from the crowd but nervously and hopefully touched His robe.  He did not ask who I was, but did something more — He took my hands, lifted me from my dark cell and brought me into His bright, brave world.  He saw me and knew me; and He has not ceased looking after me. 

I asked for little and hoped for less, but the Lord gave much, much more.  Without judgment, without hesitation, the Lord gave abundantly.  I with my fears, the bleeding woman in the Bible, you with the debilitating sickness, you with the broken dream and you without hope — we could put our trust in the Lord and we could dare to put our hope in Him for He knows you and sees you.  Won’t you follow and touch even just His robe?

One response to “Who Dares to Touch?

How do you like to be encouraged? Share it!

